Radio Galaxy Zoo Talk

Hello, Galaxy Zoo Radio!

• DZM by DZM Zooniverse Team

Hello R.G.Z. Zooites! Some of you may have seen my introductory posts over at the regular old-school Galaxy Zoo), but for those who didn't... well, hello! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

My name is Darren--DZM here on Talk--and I've just joined the Zooniverse team. I'm working on a few projects, first and foremost a makeover of this Talk system to incorporate some of the awesome feedback that you and other Zooites have been offering. Iโ€™ll also be around these boards as often as possible, looking for any other ways in which I can help out, so Iโ€™m always interested in hearing from you!

I should mention that my background is in journalism and relations, not science or astronomy, so I am a complete neophyte at, say, galaxies. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ However, Iโ€™m really hoping to learn from all of you incredibly smart people! If possible, Iโ€™d like to participate in this project as an ordinary new citizen scientist alongside my role with the team. I already learned what a voorwerp is (sort of), so Iโ€™m on my way, right?

If thereโ€™s anything that you think the new guy should know right off the bat, please share, and feel free to ask anything about me as well. Thanks to everyone for being so welcoming, and Iโ€™m looking forward to working together!

For science!

DZM

Posted

• JeanTate by JeanTate in response to DZM's comment.

Hi DZM, and welcome to RGZ! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Have you found the Suggestions on how to improve RGZ Talk ... thread here yet? If not, please check it out.

Each project has its fave terms; here it's things like 'giant', 'hybrid', and SDRAGN*; if you'd like some help with these, you have only to ask!

Even though you're new, perhaps you could explain what being an ADMIN (yes, in caps, dark reds ones no less) means? Oh, and if you don't mind, could you say a few words about how you came to a member of the Zooniverse team?

Happy hunting, especially for SDRAGNs! ๐Ÿ˜„